9.1 C
Monday, April 22, 2024

Entries open for ADAM Architecture’s 2024 Travel Scholarship

Entries are now open for students to apply for ADAM Architecture’s annual Travel Scholarship.

The scholarship, which was founded in 2005, offers a £2,000 award to support overseas research in architecture, architectural technology and urban design. It aims to increase access to international travel for students who wish to develop their current research or explore new areas of study. Entries will close on 19th April 2024.

ADAM Architecture Scholarship winner 2016 | Iran

“Our Travel Scholarship has been formative for many highly skilled, young architects working internationally,” says ADAM Architecture design director and Travel Scholarship judge, Robbie Kerr, who was awarded the scholarship himself while working for the practice during his degree course at Edinburgh University. “I still draw on my research today,” he continues.

The scholarship’s inaugural programme took place in 2004 to inspire students and encourage architectural exploration. ADAM Architecture’s Design Directors have been consistently impressed by the variety and high standards of applications received. The result has been almost 20 years of broad architectural research in countries including Italy, Malta, Japan, Cuba, France, Belgium, Sicily, Iran, Algeria and Ethiopia, funded by ADAM Architecture.

The initiative is demonstrative of the practice’s consistent and enthusiastic investment in young talent, a principle that has allowed the executive board to furnish ADAM Architecture with a highly talented, diverse and dynamic team.

ADAM Architecture Scholarship winner 2010 | Japan

Entry requirements

The scholarship is open to students enrolled at a UK or international university or School of Architecture, studying RIBA Part I and up to 3 years after Part II qualification, studying a CIAT accredited degree or post graduate course, or equivalent qualification.

Judges will be looking for a significant piece of original research work that will comprise an outstanding contribution to architectural knowledge. Applicants with all stylistic interests are encouraged, whether offering a fresh perspective on contemporary architecture, to traditional and everything in between.

Please follow this link to apply.

Previous winners

The winner of the 2023 ADAM Architecture Travel Scholarship was Grant Donaldson, who has recently completed an MA in architecture at the Royal College of Art. Donaldson is using this opportunity to study the Gatehouse Community in Zimbabwe, a Christian meeting place and accommodation complex that has, over the last 50 years, helped people with serious psychiatric, medical and social problems. It has also established an orphanage, a church, a medical practice and a school, and has cultivated its own farm in a country without stable water and electricity supplies, becoming mostly self-sufficient.

In 2022, the scholarship was awarded to Amanda Iglesias while she was studying as an architecture graduate at the University of Cambridge. Iglesias is currently an architect at Robert A.M. Stern in New York City. Her chosen country of study was Denmark, where she delved into the work of husband-and-wife architectural team, Inger and Johannes Exner, and particularly the 13 churches they built throughout the 1960s and 1970s.

Related Articles

Stay Connected

  • – Subscribe –

Latest Articles