8 C
Friday, December 8, 2023

The annual World Architecture Festival (WAF) 2022

The Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC) supports the Best Use of Certified Timber prize at the 2022 World Architecture Festival Awards.

Now in its 15th year, the annual World Architecture Festival (WAF) 2022 will be held in Lisbon from 30 November – 2 December and entries are now open for its influential awards including the Best Use of Certified Timber prize supported by the Programme for Endorsement of Forest Certification (PEFC).

Since their launch, the prizes have become some of the most highly regarded and significant architectural prizes in the world and are judged by some of the biggest names in architecture. They are unique in that the shortlisted entrants present their projects live to the jury in front of an audience of peers.

Winning a WAF award can give your practice a huge business boost and elevate your global reputation as leading low carbon architects and sustainable building designers. Plus, all entries will be featured on the World Buildings Directory.

The Best Use of Certified Timber prize recognises architects and project teams for their use of certified timber as a key material for buildings, which combine aesthetics with sustainability, innovation and quality. A special jury, including a PEFC representative, will identify entries which have used certified timber in this way. Shortlisted architects will be contacted to confirm that the timber specified and used on the project originates from certified sources.

The 2021 WAF Best Use of Certified Timber Prize Winner was ‘Te Whare Nui o Tuteata’, the Scion Innovation hub in Rotorua, New Zealand. The new three-storey building was the realisation of the vision of a project team that were committed to delivering a memorable timber structure and was designed by architects RTA Studio + Irving Smith.The project used PEFC-certified laminated veneer lumber (LVL) and cross laminated timber (CLT), from certified forests in New Zealand.

Around the world, the design community is embracing solid and engineered wood to deliver high-profile, award-winning projects and everyday designs – from stunning homes, schools and hotels to stylish restaurants, theatres, retail and leisure facilities. All of this being done with a view to securing a healthier, zero carbon built environment.

PEFC-certified timber – including engineered wood products such as CLT and glulam – means that the forest is being sustainably managed in line with 140 demanding criteria. These requirements include biodiversity enhancement, soil protection, maintenance of watercourses and the rights of forest workers and local communities.

2022 will be the fourth year that PEFC has sponsored the Best Use of Certified Timber prize.  Last year, 22 projects from around the world made the shortlist, with eight making it to the final judging stage. The Best Use of Certified Timber Prize shortlist will be chosen from the main WAF shortlist, so if you are submitting a project which has used certified timber for a WAF Award, remember to enter it for the Best Use of Certified Timber prize as well – no additional fee is required.

The WAF Awards are for work completed (end date 30 June 2022) or started since January 2021. The entry deadline is 6 May 2022. For more information on the WAF Best Use of Certified Timber prize visit: https://worldarchitecturefestival.com/live/en/page/special-prizes

Related Articles

Stay Connected

  • – Subscribe –

Latest Articles