15.4 C
Sunday, June 26, 2022

The 2012 LEAF Awards

The Emirates Glass LEAF Awards were conceived nine years ago to honor architects and their buildings. This year??s Awards were presented at a glittering ceremony, held on the 21st September at London??s Four Seasons Hotel at Park Lane. Hosted by British comedian John Maloney, the event was attended by many of the world??s top architects.

Attracting entries from iconic buildings around the world, the awards recognise those that have not only had exceptional success, but also shown leadership within their respective fields. A total of 46 entries made this year??s shortlist, these are divided into 10 categories that include Refurbishment of the Year, Public Building of the Year, Best Sustainable Development, and Best Future Building.

The 2012 jury panel with the tough job of selecting the overall winners in each category was made up of architects Irving Brauer (chairman, principal of Brauer Associates), Phil Holden (managing director of Pascall+Watson architects), Lucy Bullivant (architectural curator, critic, author), Paolo Brescia (partner of Open Building Research), and Kasia Fiutowska (founding partner of Sketch Design).

Previous winners have included Zaha Hadid, David Chipperfield, SOM, Steven Holl and Terry Farrell; and added to that meteoric list this year are:

Category: Mixed-Use Building of the Year 
Winning project: Daeyang Gallery & House
Architect: Steven Holl Architects


Category: Residential Building of the Year (single occupancy)
Winning project: Villa Roces
Architect: Architectureburo Govaert & Vanhoutte


Category: Residential Building of the Year (multiple occupancy)
Winning project: S.A Residence
Architect: Rafiq Azam


Category: Commercial Building of the Year 
Winning project: Vivanta Hotel
Architect: WOW Architects / Warner Wong Design


Category: International Interior Design Award
Winning project: The Royal Children??s Hospital
Architect: Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart Archittects


Category: Refurbishment of the Year
Winning project: The Granary
Architect: Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects


Category: Young Architect of the Year
Winning project: White Grounds UK
Architect: Marco Guarnieri


Category: Public Building Award and Overall winner for 2012
Winning project: Musashino Art University Museum and Library
Architect: Sou Fujimoto Architects


Category: Best Sustainable Development
Winning project: The Druk White Lotus School
Architect: Arup Associates


Category: Best Future Building 2012
Winning project: Manhattan Loft Gardens
Architect: Skidmore Owings + Merrill

Winning project: The Rock Stadium
Architect: MZ Architects


Category: Lifetime Achievement  ??

Winner: Daniel Libeskindd



Related Articles

Stay Connected

  • – Subscribe –

Latest Articles